Close
    Search Buscar

    How to reset Instagram

    Who I am
    Aina Prat
    @ainaprat
    Author and references
  • How to reset Instagram settings
  • How to reset Instagram home
  • How to reset Instagram profile

    Let's go straight to the point and see how to reset Instagram profile going to "empty" it of all its contents or deleting it and then opening a new one. The procedures I'm about to show you are valid for both reset Instagram on iPhone that of Android, so you can follow them no matter what phone you have.


    Empty the profile


    If your intent is to simply clean up your Instagram account, you can empty the profile deleting the content you have posted, the list of followers, the people you follow and so on.

    First, therefore, access Instagram from your Android or iOS device and tap on the symbol oflittle man or thumbnail of your profile photo (bottom right), so as to go to the main screen of your account.

    Now, to delete a post, fai tap sull 'preview of one of the contents you have published, then presses the icon of three dots (top right of the same) and select the item Archive (if you want to make it disappear only from the feed) or presses on the wording Delete (if you want to permanently delete it). Well: you just have to repeat the operation for all the other posts you have published on your profile and that's it.

    If, on the other hand, you want to cancel yours profilo's photo, once you are on the main screen of your account, keep your finger pressed on it (top left) and select the item Remove your profile picture (your Android) or Remove current photo (its iOS).



    You added some featured stories and do you want to delete these too? To do this, just make a long tap on thepreview of the featured story you want to delete, select the item Delete the featured story in the opened menu and confirm it by pressing on the wording Delete.

    If you want to delete yours biographyinstead, press the button Edit the profile, delete the content you entered in the text field dedicated to the bio and save the changes by clicking on the symbol (✓) (on Android) or on the voice end (its iOS).

    Regarding the elimination of follower e followed users, the procedure to follow is this: tap on the corresponding number near the item follower o followed and press pulsating Remove (in the case of followers) or Follow already (in the case of followed users). Repeat this for all followers and followed users.

    If you are wondering if there is a way to delete all the photos from Instagram and / or how to delete all the users followed on Instagram, the answer is nì: Instagram does not officially allow you to do so, but there are some "tricks" and some tools of third parties that allow to obtain more or less satisfactory results in this sense. To find out more, take a look at the guides I have dedicated to these topics and that I have just linked to you.


    Delete the profile

    If you do not want to "empty" your Instagram account or, in any case, you are looking for a more radical solution, you can delete it and then open a new one, in order to start your adventure on the photographic social network from scratch. Delete the Instagram profile - it is good that you know - it is an irreversible operation: photos, comments, likes, friends, and all other data are permanently removed and can no longer be recovered, so think carefully before proceeding.


    In any case, I recommend that you download a backup copy of the photos and videos that you have uploaded to the platform, by going to your profile and then in the menu (≡)> Settings> Security> Download data. .

    Once you have possibly obtained a backup of your data, go to this page, log in to your account, specify why are you deleting your account? using the appropriate drop-down menu, write the Password of your account in the appropriate text field at the bottom of the page and, in conclusion, press the red button Delete my account permanently.

    For more information on how to delete Instagram account, I refer you to reading the guide that I have dedicated entirely to the topic.

    How to reset Instagram settings

    Are you going to reset Instagram settings, but you don't know how to do it? Well, at the time of writing there is no Instagram function that allows you to restore the default settings of the photographic social network. This therefore means that you will have to proceed manually.


    To do this, access Instagram from the official app of the service for Android or iOS, press thelittle man or thumbnail of your profile photo (bottom right), tap the button (≡) situato in alto a destra e seleciona la voce Settings from the opened menu.

    Now, you have to go to the section of your interest (eg. Notifications, Privacy, Safety, etc.): it depends on the setting you changed and you want to restore. Then you have to press on the wording corresponding to the option you have customized and repeat the thing for all the settings you have changed on your Instagram account.

    If, on the other hand, your problem is that the Instagram app it doesn't work well and so you want to try resetting it to see if it fits, I suggest you do the following.


    • Restart the phone: If you don't know how, check out my guides on how to restart Android and how to restart iPhone.
    • Forcibly restart the Instagram app: you can do this by calling up the multi-tasking menu (with a swipe from the bottom of the screen upwards, starting from the center, on devices without a physical Home button; by pressing the appropriate button in the bottom bar of Android or with a double tap on the Home button of iPhones with physical Home button) and dragging the app panel upwards, and then restart it normally. is available in my tutorials on how to close apps on Android and iPhone.
    • Clear the Instagram app data: you can do it only on Android, by going to the menu Settings> Apps> Instagram and tapping first on the option related to the memory and then on those for the clearing cache e give.
    • Reinstall Instagram: if you don't know how, read my tutorial on how to reinstall Instagram.

    How to reset Instagram home

    Do you want to know how to reset Instagram home? Well, if you have "cleaned up" your profile by deleting all followed users (as I indicated in one of the previous chapters), you don't have much else to do, as the social network feed will be empty (you will see the content you have posted you, unless you've removed those as well) and some sponsored posts.

    If, on the other hand, you have not stopped following all users on Instagram, you can act from the settings to customize the display of content posted by certain accounts. To do this, log in to Instagram on your Android or iOS device, press the icon of cottage (bottom left), tap on the icon magnifying glass (top right) and search for the profile of your interest through the Campo di Ricerca placed at the top.

    Once you have gone to the latter, press the button Follow already, presses on the wording Silence and post on ON l'interruttore posto accanto alla dicitura Post and / or Stories. Repeat these steps for the other users that you no longer want to appear on the Instagram home and that's it.

    If you want to know how to reset Instagram Explorer, that is the section that offers you new content, you must know that this is entirely managed by the algorithm of the photographic social network and, therefore, you do not have the possibility to apply who knows what changes.

    However, you can "suggest" to the Instagram algorithm that you are not interested in a certain content and you will see that, over time, the "Explore" section of your profile will be "cleaner". To proceed, after tapping on the icon of cottage (bottom left) and having pressed on the symbol of magnifying glass (top right), find a piece of content you don't care about and tap its preview.

    Finally, press the three dots icon (top right of the post) and select the item I do not care in the opened menu. You just have to perform this operation from time to time, so that the Instagram algorithm can understand what are the contents that, in fact, you do not like.

    Ultimately, deleting the history of searches made on Instagram can also be useful for the purpose. To do this, just go to your profile and then menu from the Instagram app (≡)> Settings> Security> Search history / Clear search history> Clear all. .

    How to reset Instagram

    Audio Video How to reset Instagram
    add a comment of How to reset Instagram
    Comment sent successfully! We will review it in the next few hours.