Close
    Search Buscar

    How to unsubscribe from Instagram

    Who I am
    Valery Aloyants
    @valeryaloyants
    Author and references

    Preliminary operations: backup

    If you have decided to close your Instagram profile permanently, before taking action, make a full backup of all the photos you have uploaded to the social network. To do this, connected to this page of the Instagram website, log in to your account (if necessary) and click on the button NEXT.

    Then type the Password of your account in the appropriate text field, click on the button Request the download and wait for the Instagram email with the download link of the archive containing all your photos. The generation of the archive can take from a few minutes to several days (depending on the amount of data to be processed) and the download link has a deadline of 4 days.



    As an alternative to the download function offered by Instagram, you can rely on 4K Stogram, a free software for Windows and macOS that downloads all the photos (and videos) on an Instagram profile in one go, for a maximum of two profiles at the same time. . By purchasing the Pro version of the software (€ 9,95) you can download the photos of multiple users at the same time, but for the moment you don't need this feature.

    To download 4K Stogram on your PC, connect to the program's website and click on the button Download 4K Stogram. Then start the installation package named 4kstogram_xx.exe and click on first Yes and then OK. Then put the check mark next to the item I accept the terms of the license agreement e cheap prima su NEXT three consecutive times and then on Install e end to finish the setup. If you are using a Mac, you need to open the package to install 4K Stogram dmg you downloaded from the Internet and you need to copy the program icon to the folder Applications of macOS. That's all.


    Now start 4K Stogram, type yours username in the search bar located at the top and click on the button SUBSCRIBE to start downloading all your photos and videos (which are automatically saved in the folder Pictures / Stogram Of computer).


    If you are asked to support the application by sharing a post on Facebook, decline, it is not necessary. More info on how 4K Stogram works, the Instagram download tool and other solutions to download photos from Instagram can be found in my tutorial on how to download photos from Instagram.

    How to unsubscribe from Instagram permanently

    Now let's take action, let's see how to unsubscribe from Instagram definitively. To permanently delete your account from Instagram, connect to this page from your computer or smartphone and, if required, log in to the service by typing your username and password.

    Once logged in, indicate the reason why you want to unsubscribe from Instagram using the drop-down menu Why are you deleting your account? Among the options available are privacy concerns, creating another account, difficulty finding followers and other reasons - you choose the one that you think is most compatible with your situation.

    Then type the password of your Instagram account in the text field that appears at the bottom of the page and press the button Delete my account permanently to permanently unsubscribe from Instagram.

    It is important to point out that once an account on Instagram is deleted it is impossible to reactivate it. All photos, likes and data saved on the service are deleted and it is even impossible to register again on the social network using the same username. In short, think carefully before taking this step!


    Having made this necessary clarification, I remind you that after deleting the account you can safely delete the Instagram app from your mobile: on the iPhone just hold your finger on its icon for a few seconds and press the x that appears at the top left, on Android instead you have to go to Impostazioni> App and press the Instagram icon first and then the button Uninstall.


    How to deactivate an Instagram account

    To temporarily deactivate your account from Instagram, connect to the website of the service (instagram.com) from a computer, smartphone or tablet and log in by clicking on the button Log in as [your name]. If you don't see the login button, click on the item Do you have an account? Log in located below and connected to your account by filling out the form that is proposed to you.


    On the page that opens, click on thelittle man placed at the top right and presses the button Edit the profile present on your personal profile page. Then select the item Temporarily disable my account located at the bottom of the screen, choose the reason why you are deactivating your profile (eg. I need a break) from the drop-down menu Why are you deactivating your account? and complete the operation by typing the Password Instagram in the appropriate text field and pressing the button Temporarily disable the account.

    Subsequently, to reactivate your account, all you have to do is log in to Instagram using your account and confirm your willingness to reopen the profile.


    If you do not want to completely deactivate your account but only make it private (i.e. allow old followers and the people to whom you will provide the link to see it), open the Instagram app on your smartphone and first press the icon of thelittle man located at the bottom right and then on the ☰ button at the top right. Then select the item Settings from the menu that appears on the side, move up ON the relative levetta all'opzione Private account And that's it. If you use iPhone, the option Private account can be found in the sub-menu Account privacy.

    Please note: deactivation of the Instagram account can be done at most once a week. Don't abuse this feature.

    How to unsubscribe from Instagram

    Audio Video How to unsubscribe from Instagram
    add a comment of How to unsubscribe from Instagram
    Comment sent successfully! We will review it in the next few hours.